"Golden Scalpel 2020" awards for MUW researchers

Professor Krzysztof Zieniewicz and Professor Marcin Grabowski, together with their teams, were among those awarded in the prestigious "Golden Scalpel 2020" Plebiscite - organized by the "Pulse of Medicine". The competition promotes those who increase the quality and innovation of medical care in Poland. The excellent jury awarded 10 projects out of several dozen applications.

The 3rd place was taken by Prof. Marcin Grabowski from the 1st Chair and Department of Cardiology  of MUW (headed by Prof. Grzegorz Opolski), for the first Polish use of bluetooth technology in heart electrotherapy devices in adult patients. Professor M. Grabowski, thanking the Competition Jury and the editorial board, distinguished primarily the team of doctors and nurses. He also thanked the management of the Department for the interest in the project and the hospital for the possibility to carry out this type of procedure. In carrying out the procedure, the specialists used the ”Abbott" technology.
 "Golden Scalpel 2020" and the 7th place was awarded to Prof. Krzysztof Zieniewicz, Head of the Department of General, Transplant and Liver Surgery CCH MUW and the Department's Team for performing the first liver transplantation in Poland, after applying mechanical, extracorporeal perfusion and oxygenation of the organ in hypothermia, using D-HOPE technique. Professor K. Zieniewicz stressed that it is a great pleasure to be among the winners of such a prestigious Competition. At the same time, he thanked the co-creators of this success: Professor Waldemar Patkowski - head of the project, Professor Michał Grąt, Professor Wacław Hołówko, Marcin Morawski, MD, PhD, Konrad Kobrynia, MD, PhD, and the whole Department’s Team for their great dedication to this procedure.“We started the transplantation program in the Clinic 26 years ago, we are developing it very effectively. We have become an important in Europe and leading in Poland center of liver transplantation. We introduce global novelties. We will persevere in our work.”- with these words Professor Krzysztof Zieniewicz concluded his speech.
The announcement of the results and presentation of the Competition winners took place online this year.

Graphics: Pulse of Medicine

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email