Recognition of mobility

The Medical University of Warsaw fulfills requirements of the incoming and outgoing students Learning Agreements approved by all involved parties.

Students participating in the study mobility or practical placements in foreign enterprises receive full recognition of their achievements for all academic work/practical traineeship successfully completed at any of the  partner institutions.

Incoming students and the partner institutions are provided with Transcripts of Records after the completion of their mobility period by IRO.

The study period abroad including examinations or other forms of assessment is recognized and replaces a comparable period of study at MUW. The student then resumes the study programme at MUW without any loss of time or credit.

Students participating in the ECTS scheme will receive full credit for all academic work successfully completed at any of the ECTS partner institutions. These academic credits may be transferred from one participating school to another as long as there has been prior cooperation agreement between the institutions involved.

All students of participating departments who wish to take part in the ECTS scheme may do so provided that their own institution agrees, and that there are enough places available.

Most students participating in the ECTS will go to one host institution abroad, study there for a limited period and then return to their home institution. When a student returns and has successfully completed the study programme previously agreed to by the home and host institutions, credit transfer takes place. The student then resumes the study programme at the home institution without any loss of time or credit. If, on the other hand, the student decides to stay at the host institution and to take his/her degree there, he/she may have to adapt his/her study course to comply with the rules of the host country, institution and department.

Financial support for the ECTS students is provided via mobility grants awarded within the ERASMUS programme to students who meet the following general eligibility requirements:

  • Students must be citizens of an European Union Member State or an EFTA country,
  • Students are exempted from tuition fees at the host institution. They may, however, be required to pay their normal tuition fees to the home institution during the period of study abroad,
  • The national grant, loan or scholarship to which the student may be entitled for study at his/her home institution may not be discounted, interrupted or reduced while the student is studying in another Member State and is receiving an Erasmus grant.
  • One study period abroad should not last less than 3 months or more than one year.